25/10/2019 – Guinness PRO14 Communications – Griffiths returns for Glasgow Warriors clash

Back row Ollie Griffiths makes a return to the starting line-up as Dragons face Glasgow Warriors in the Guinness PRO14 at Rodney Parade on Saturday (kick-off 3pm).

Griffiths has been out of action since the opening day clash with Munster. However, the dynamic back row forward now makes a comeback as Dragons are back in action on home soil.

Griffiths is named at Number Eight, replacing the injured Lewis Evans, and is part of two changes to the starting line-up named by Director of Dragons Rugby, Dean Ryan.

Centre Jack Dixon also returns in midfield to partner Adam Warren.

Prop Brok Harris is fit to start the game after coming off early against Connacht Rugby last time out.

Scrum half Luke Baldwin, on a season-long loan from Worcester Warriors, could make his first-ever appearance for Dragons after being named among the replacements.

A changed bench also sees recalls for hooker Rhys Lawrence, prop Josh Reynolds, back row James Benjamin and fly half Arwel Robson.

Boss Ryan has acknowledged the size of the challenge against a Glasgow side that finished as runners-up in last season’s competition and could also recall a number of Rugby World Cup stars.

However, he is keen to see a response after defeat to Connacht in the region’s last league game.

“Glasgow are well coached,” said Ryan. “After playing two Irish sides that squeezed us very hard with the drive and the kicking game, I am sure they will play a pretty expansive style.

“There have been times where we have seen the way that we want to play and there have been times when we have struggled under pressure in certain areas of the game.

“I hope that the game will be a little more fluid and I am excited about seeing ourselves up against them.”

Dragons (v Glasgow Warriors): Jordan Williams, Owen Jenkins, Adam Warren, Jack Dixon, Ashton Hewitt, Sam Davies, Rhodri Williams (c); Brok Harris, Richard Hibbard, Leon Brown, Joe Davies, Matthew Screech, Huw Taylor, Taine Basham, Ollie Griffiths

Replacements: Rhys Lawrence, Josh Reynolds, Lloyd Fairbrother, Max Williams, James Benjamin, Luke Baldwin, Arwel Robson, Tyler Morgan