16/02/2020 – SANZAAR – Patelsio Tomkinson Cited

Player: Patelsio Tomkinson
Team: Highlanders
Position: Wing
Date of Incident: 15 February 2020
Nature of Offence: 9.13. A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackling includes, but is not limited to, tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent above the line of the shoulders even if the tackle starts below the line of the shoulders. or in the alternative: 9.12 A player must not physically abuse anyone. Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to: Striking with shoulder
Elapsed time in match when incident occurred: 44:06

Patelsio Tomkinson of the Highlanders has been cited for alleged foul play during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

Tomkinson is alleged to have contravened 9.13. A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously, during the match between the Brumbies and Highlanders at GIO Stadium in Canberra on 15 February 2020.

The referee for the match, Nic Berry, issued a Yellow Card for the incident which occurred in the 44th minute.

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play due to the Player's shoulder making direct contact with the head of his opponent.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Sunday 16 February, 8am(SAST), 5pm(AEDT), 7pm(NZDT) via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

ENDS