27/12/2019 – Guinness PRO14 Communications – Munster Team to face Leinster named

The Munster team to face Leinster at a sold-out Thomond Park on Saturday evening has been named by Head Coach Johann van Graan.

Billy Holland captains the side with seven changes to the team that defeated Connacht at the Sportsground last week.

Mike Haley, Sammy Arnold, Rory Scannell, Nick McCarthy, Fineen Wycherley, Tommy O’Donnell and Jack O’Donoghue all start with Joey Carbery set to make his first Munster appearance of the season off the bench.

There are three Munster Rugby Academy players named among the replacements – Diarmuid Barron, Keynan Knox and Jack O’Sullivan.

Haley starts at full-back with Dan Goggin and Shane Daly named on either flank. Goggin, who has previously played on the wing as a replacement, starts as a winger for the province for the first time.

Scannell and Arnold pair up in the centres with McCarthy and JJ Hanrahan, Man of the Match last week, in the half-backs.

Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O’Byrne and Stephen Archer pack down in an unchanged front row.

Wycherley and Holland start in the engine room with O’Donnell, Chris Cloete and O’Donoghue completing the side.

In keeping with previous years, the fixture has been nominated as Munster Rugby’s official Charity Match.

During half-time, representatives from the Jack & Jill Children’s Foundation and the Peter McVerry Trust will each be presented with a signed Munster jersey on the pitch.

€1 from each match programme sold will be donated to the respective charities.

Munster: Mike Haley; Dan Goggin, Sammy Arnold, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Nick McCarthy; Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer; Fineen Wycherley, Billy Holland (C); Tommy O’Donnell, Chris Cloete, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Keynan Knox, Darren O’Shea, Jack O’Sullivan, Neil Cronin, Joey Carbery, Calvin Nash.