14/12/2019 – World Rugby Communications – Five teams go unbeaten on day two at HSBC Cape Town Sevens

- Five teams unbeaten on day two at the Cape Town Stadium
- HSBC Cape Town Sevens is the second round on this season’s men’s series
- Action continues on 15 December at 11:18 local time when South Africa take on Kenya

South Africa, New Zealand, France, Ireland and Kenya finished the pool stages of the HSBC Cape Town Sevens 2019 unbeaten to march into the Cup quarter-finals in style.

A crowd of 52,612 packed into the Cape Town Stadium for day two of the tournament on Saturday, creating an electric atmosphere whenever the Blitzboks were playing and cheering them to victories over Fiji and USA.

South Africa, New Zealand and France won all three matches to top their respective pools, while Ireland and Kenya played out an entertaining 24-24 draw in the Pool D decider with the men in green finishing top on points difference.

They will be joined in the Cup quarter-finals by Fiji, Argentina and Scotland with Dubai bronze medallists England and USA the biggest names to miss out on the top eight, the latter for the first time since Singapore in April 2018. The two will now meet each other in the ninth place play-off.

The first Cup quarter-final, at 11:18 local time (GMT+2), is an all-African affair with South Africa taking on Kenya for the right to face the winner of the encounter between France and Argentina.

Ireland's reward for topping their pool is a meeting with Fiji, who turned up the heat in their final match against Japan to ensure they didn't miss out on the quarter-finals twice in a series for the first time.

The last quarter-final pits New Zealand, the most successful team in series history in South Africa, against Scotland, who progressed as runners-up in Pool B after France's victory against England.