12/12/2019 – Rugby AU – Media Release: Aussie Women’s Sevens ready for Cape Town

1. Shannon Parry, University of Sydney, Queensland, 27 caps 
2. Sharni Williams (c), University of Canberra, ACT, 32 caps 
3. Yasmin Meakes, University of Canberra, ACT, 8 caps  
4. Cassandra Staples, University of Queensland, NSW, 9 caps
5. Emma Tonegato, University of Western Australia, NSW, 27 caps 
6. Demi Hayes, Griffith University, Queensland, 9 caps 
7.  Jakiya Whitfeld*, University of Sydney, NSW
8. Madison Ashby, University of Technology Sydney, NSW, 2 caps
9. Faith Nathan, University of Technology Sydney, NSW, 1 cap
10. Alicia Lucas, University of New England, NSW, 31 caps 
11. Rhiannon Byers, University of New England, NSW, 3 caps 
12. Ellia Green, University of Melbourne, Victoria, 27 caps 
13. Sariah Paki, University of Technology Sydney, NSW, 8 caps

The Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens team has been named for round three in Cape Town with Jakiya Whitfeld, Yasmin Meakes and Demi Hayes coming into the starting squad. 

Evania Pelite has been ruled out due to injury and has been sent home to Australia alongside with Georgia Hannaway. 

Australia will meet England, Ireland and the USA in a tough Pool C as the HSBC Sevens World Series descends on Cape Town for the first time on the Women's circuit. 

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Head Coach, John Manenti said: “We have made a few changes to the squad this week and it’s great to welcome back Demi and Yasmin. 

We are really excited about Jakiya in her debut World Series tournament. Jakiya has earned her place in this side and has been one out of our outstanding players that has come through our pathway and the Aon University Sevens Series. 

“Cape Town will through up some different challenges this week, it’s the first time we have had to go back weeks on the World Series, and we are really looking forward to the challenge.” 

All matches will be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS. 

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Fixtures, Cape Town 
Friday 13 December
Australia v England, 11.00pm AEDT 
Saturday 14 December 
Australia v Ireland, 5.45pm AEDT 
Australia v USA, 11.57pm AEDT